Hello Beautiful World!

Author Sarah Dessen said, ““It’s all in the view. That’s what I mean about forever, too. For any one of us our forever could end in an hour, or a hundred years from now. You never know for sure, so you’d better make every second count.”  This is from her lovely book called The Truth About Forever.  And I was in South Africa when I read her book.

Let’s just start honestly.  I have no earthly idea where my writing truly comes from, or why it has been ingrained into me since birth.  Find pictures of me as a little girl and I am asleep with a marker in hand in mid writing.  I have written ever since I was given a pencil and I haven’t stopped since, 25 years later.  Whatever the reason or cause, I am convinced it is in my blood for a reason.  The reason is big and immeasurable.

The forever quote hits a home run in my heart in this current season of my life.  Sometimes you need a good SHAKE to wake you up and to get a perspective of what is truly important.  I almost lost a friend this year to a heart attack.  For this miraculous, insane, frightening event I am forever thankful.  The first week was filled with amazement at my friends recovery and the rest was me being shocked back to life and shown how precious, valuable, and fragile live can be.  When her heart was being shocked back to life, mine joined in, too.  My desire to love people deeply, compassionately, and strong has trumped the previous fear of rejection.  It is as though a flower has burst through a shell of chains and can finally breath in the air of life.  A huge sigh of relief is released and the petals are in full bloom.

One of my favorite quotes is this: “And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom”  This is said by Anasis Nin.

If you haven’t had moments of freedom, I pray that you do.  There is nothing like losing a chain, or learning more of what you are made of.  I truly believe people are made up of MUCH more than they know they are.

So, go out there and go to your limit.  Then reach just a little more.

Til Next time,

What freedom moments have you had?  I would love to hear about it in the comments.  We can celebrate your every win.

2 thoughts on “Hello Beautiful World!

  1. Beautifully said. This is very well written. I find it a little amusing how death (or near death) is the common tool used to “wake” us up to the life around us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

